Thaumatin
53850-34-3 · E 957 · THAUMATIN · E957 · 957 · Thaumatins, proteins · Thaumatin · Taumatiin · Taumatiini · Taumatin · Taumatina · Taumatinas · Taumatyna · Taumatīns · Tawmatina · Thaumatin · Thaumatine · Θαυματίνη · ТауматинE number E957INS 957CAS 53850-34-3
Listed as a sweetener by Canada, Codex and the EU.
Listed as sweeteners (CA, EU, Codex) · flavour enhancers (Codex) · flavouring agents and adjuvants (US)
- Canada: Sweetener — Health Canada, List of Permitted Sweeteners (List 9)
- European Union: Sweeteners — Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008, Annex II, Part B, 2. Sweeteners (consolidated text 02008R1333-20260818)
- Codex Alimentarius: Sweetener — CXS 192-1995 Table One, INS 957
- Codex Alimentarius: Flavour enhancer — CXS 192-1995 Table One, INS 957
- United States: Flavoring agent or adjuvant — FDA, Substances Added to Food: THAUMATIN
Thaumatin is a sweet-tasting protein from a West African fruit, thousands of times as sweet as sugar by weight. It is used as much for its ability to enhance and prolong other flavours as for sweetness itself.
Where it is and isn’t permitted
| Jurisdiction | Status | Scope and limits | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Australia and New Zealand | Permitted, with conditions | 56 food categories no numerical limit (good manufacturing practice) Show every food category
| Food Standards Code, Schedule 15, S15—5and 55 further provisionsretrieved 2026-10-17 |
| Canada | Permitted, with conditions | highest permitted level 500 mg/kg 3 permitted uses Show every permitted use
| Health Canada, List of Permitted Sweeteners (List 9)and 2 further provisionsretrieved 2026-10-17 |
| European Union | Permitted, with conditions | 15 food categories highest permitted level 400 mg/l Show every food category
| Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008and 14 further provisionsretrieved 2026-10-18 |
| Great Britain | Permitted, with conditions | 15 food categories highest permitted level 400 mg/kg or mg/l Show every food category
| Assimilated Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008and 14 further provisionsretrieved 2026-10-18 |
| Japan | No listing matchedThis site imports only Japan’s list of designated additives (Appended Table 1 to the Regulations for Enforcement of the Food Sanitation Act), matched by English name. Existing additives, natural flavouring agents and ordinary foods used as additives are permitted outside that list and are not imported, so an empty row does not show that Japan does not permit the substance. | ||
| South Korea | Permitted, with conditions | Designated food additive: Standards and Specifications for Food Additives, Part III, 1. …Designated food additive: Standards and Specifications for Food Additives, Part III, 1. 일반식품첨가물 (general food additives), 토마틴 (“Thaumatin”, the English the Code prints beside it). Main use (주용도) of 토마틴: 감미료. Standard for use (사용기준) of 토마틴: (1) [to be used under the general standard for use in II. 2. 1), the minimum amount that achieves the technical effect, with no limit set for this additive in particular] “II. 2. 1)의 규정에 따라 사용하여야 한다.” The Korean is the standard as published. There is no official English translation of the current Code (the English version on MFDS’s website is the 2020 edition and has no legal effect); the English in square brackets is this site’s description of what each sentence does, not a translation of the foods or the levels. Compositional specifications (Part IV) are not imported, nor are the general standards in Part II, which apply to every additive. | Standards and Specifications for Food Additives (식품첨가물의 기준 및 규격), MFDS Notification, Part III (Standards for use, by item)retrieved 2026-10-18 |
| United States | Not listedDoes not appear on this jurisdiction’s permitted list. That is not the same as being prohibited. | ||
| Codex Alimentarius | Permitted, with conditions | 4 food categories no numerical limit (good manufacturing practice) Show every food category and its notes
| CXS 192-1995 Table Three, INS 957and 4 further provisionsretrieved 2026-09-07 |
How much is permitted
A listing usually limits the quantity as well as the food. Only one of the forms that takes is a figure: quantum satis and good manufacturing practice permit the amount the technological effect requires and no more, which is a limit rather than the absence of one. Figures below are the range across every food category this page is listed in, and categories differ between regulators — see how much is permitted.
| Australia and New Zealand | — | 56 GMP |
|---|---|---|
| Canada | 100 mg/kg – 500 mg/kg | 3 numeric limit |
| European Union | 5 mg/kg – 400 mg/kg | 11 numeric limit, 3 quantum satis, 1 no quantity stated |
| Great Britain | 0.5 mg/kg – 400 mg/kg | 11 numeric limit, 1 several limits, 3 quantum satis |
| South Korea | — | 1 no quantity stated |
| Codex Alimentarius | — | 5 GMP |
What a label must say
Words a food containing Thaumatin is obliged to carry, quoted from the instrument that imposes them. A required statement is a fact about the regulation, not a finding about the substance — every rule below applies where the additive is authorised.
‘with sweetener(s)’, or ‘with sugar(s) and sweetener(s)’ where the food also contains added sugar. The statement accompanies the name of the food.
Any food containing an authorised sweetener. Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011, Annex III, points 2.1 and 2.2 · Assimilated Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011, Annex III
Every rule collected at what a label must say.
What FDA’s inventory records
This page holds no listing for Thaumatin in the parts of 21 CFR this site reads. FDA’s Substances Added to Food inventory does carry it, as THAUMATIN, pointing at a flavour industry number, with no 21 CFR citation, and FEMA number 3732.
Technical effects FDA records: flavoring agent or adjuvant.
The inventory is an information resource: a row means FDA holds information about the substance’s use in food, not that the substance is listed for that use. It is shown apart from the permissions above and is not counted as a US permission anywhere on this site.
GRAS notices to the FDA
A GRAS notice is a company’s conclusion that a substance is generally recognised as safe for the use it describes. FDA’s letter responds to that conclusion, for that notifier and that use. It is not a listing in 21 CFR, and it is not counted as a US permission above. The substance and use are as FDA’s inventory words them; this site matched the notice to this page by exact name.
GRN No. 738 · Thaumatin · Nomad Bioscience GmbH
Intended use: For use as a sweetener in wine, beer, and other fermented beverages; jams, jellies, marmalades; potato-based and similar snacks; breakfast cereals; chewing gum (with other sweeteners); chewing gum (without other sweeteners); ice cream and other edible ices; cocoa and chocolate products; breath mints and similar; confectionary; decorations, coatings, and fillings; fine bakery items; and dietary supplements (capsules, tablets, syrups, and similar)at use levels ranging from 5 mg/kg to 400 mg/kg. Also for use as a sweetener in table-top sweeteners in accordance with good manufacturing practice.
FDA’s response (2018-04-18): FDA has no questions
What it is made from
Extracted with water from the arils of the katemfe fruit, Thaumatococcus daniellii. Because it is a protein it is digested like any other, and it can also be produced by fermentation in engineered microorganisms.
- Vegan
- Vegetarian
Compare other additives on the dietary indexes.
- CAS registry number
- 53850-34-3
The two specifications, compared
The European Union sets identity and purity by regulation; JECFA publishes its own through FAO, advisory until a country adopts it. Both documents are below in full. These are the parameters each puts a number on.
| Parameter | European Union | JECFA |
|---|---|---|
| Assay | no less than 15.1 % | no less than 15.1 % |
| Loss on drying | no more than 9 % | no more than 9 % |
| Sulphated ash | no more than 2 % | no more than 2 % |
| Lead | no more than 3 mg/kg | no more than 3 mg/kg |
| Arsenic | no more than 3 mg/kg | — |
The two documents state the same figures for every parameter compared here.
How the EU defines it
The legal specification an additive must meet to be sold as this E number in the EU — what it is, how it may be made, and the purity it must reach. From Commission Regulation (EU) No 231/2012.
E 957 Thaumatin
Assay, identification and purity criteria
Description and assay
- Einecs
- 258-822-2
- Chemical name
- Thaumatin is obtained by aqueous extraction (pH 2,5 to 4) of the arils of the fruit of strains of Thaumatococcus daniellii (Benth) and consists essentially of the proteins thaumatin I and thaumatin II together with minor amounts of plant constituents derived from the source material
- Chemical formula
- Polypeptide of 207 amino acids
- Molecular weight
- Thaumatin I 22209 Thaumatin II 22293
- Assay
- Not less than 15,1 % nitrogen on the dried basis equivalent to not less than 93 % proteins (N × 6,2)
- Description
- Odourless, cream-coloured powder. Approximately 2 000 to 3 000 times as sweet as sucrose
Identification
- Solubility
- Very soluble in water, insoluble in acetone
Purity criteria
- Loss on drying
- Not more than 9 % (105 °C to constant weight)
- Carbohydrates
- Not more than 3 % (expressed on dry weight basis)
- Sulphated ash
- Not more than 2 % (expressed on dry weight basis)
- Aluminium
- Not more than 100 mg/kg (expressed on dry weight basis)
- Arsenic
- Not more than 3 mg/kg (expressed on dry weight basis)
- Lead
- Not more than 3 mg/kg (expressed on dry weight basis)
- Microbiological criteria: Total aerobic microbial count
- Not more than 1 000 colonies per gram
- Microbiological criteria: Escherichia coli
- Absent in 1 g
How JECFA defines it
The international specification for identity and purity, prepared by the Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives and published by FAO. It is a different document from any above, written by a different body and revised on its own cycle; it is advisory, and a country adopts it or does not.
INS 957 Thaumatin
Obtained by aqueous extraction (pH 2.5-4.0) of the arils of the fruit of Thaumatococcus daniellii (Benth); consists essentially of the proteins Thaumatin I and Thaumatin II together with minor amounts of plant constituents derived from the source material.
Synonyms: INS No. 957
Assay, identification and purity criteria
Description and assay
- Specification history
- Prepared at the 53rd JECFA (1999) and published in FNP 52 Add 7 (1999), superseding tentative specifications prepared at the 51st JECFA (1998), published in FNP 52 Add 6 (1998). ADI "not specified", established at the 29th JECFA in 1985.
- C.A.S. number
- 53850-34-3
- Formula weight
- Thaumatin I: 22,209 Thaumatin II: 22,293
- Assay
- Not less than 15.1% nitrogen on the dried basis equivalent to not less than 93% protein (N x 6.2)
- DESCRIPTION
- Odourless, cream-coloured powder
- FUNCTIONAL USES
- Sweetener, flavour enhancer
- METHOD OF ASSAY
- Proceed as directed under Nitrogen Determination (Kjeldahl Method; Volume 4), Method II.
Identification
- Solubility (Vol. 4)
- Very soluble in water; insoluble in acetone
- Ninhydrin test
- To 5 ml of a 1 in 1000 ml solution of the sample add 1 ml of freshly prepared triketohydrine hydrate (ninhydrin) solution (dissolve 200mg of triketohydrine hydrate in water and dilute to 100 ml). A bluish colour is produced.
- Infrared absorption
- The infrared spectrum of a potassium bromide dispersion of the sample (1-2 mg of sample ground in a mortar with 100-200 mg potassium bromide) corresponds to the infrared spectrum below. Characteristic maxima of absorption are shown at the following wavenumbers: 3300, 2960, 1650, 1529, 1452, 1395, 1237, 1103 and 612 cm -1
Purity criteria
- Loss on drying (Vol. 4)
- Not more than 9.0% (105 o to constant weight)
- Spectrophotometry
- The specific absorption, A 1% at the wavelength of maximum absorption 1 cm
- (Vol. 4)
- (about 279 nm) shall be not less than 11.5 and not more than 13.0 determined on the dried basis and using a 1 in 100 w/v solution of the sample in water at pH 2.7.
- Sulfated ash (Vol. 4)
- Not more than 2.0% on the dried basis
- Carbohydrates
- Not more than 3.0% on the dried basis See description under TESTS
- Microbiological criteria (Vol. 4)
- Total aerobic plate count: Not more than 1000 cfu/g E. coli : Negative in 1 g
- Aluminium
- Not more than 100 mg/kg Determine by atomic absorption spectroscopy (Vol. 4)
- Lead (Vol. 4)
- Not more than 3 mg/kg Determine using an atomic absorption technique appropriate to the specified level. The selection of sample size and method of sample preparation may be based on the principles of the method described in Volume 4, “Instrumental Methods.”
- Test: Carbohydrates
- Reagent: cysteine-sulfuric acid Mix immediately before use 0.5 ml of 3% w/v aqueous solution of L-cysteine hydrochloride monohydrate and 25 ml of 86% v/v sulfuric acid. Cool in ice. Do not store for reuse. Procedure Dissolve 0.2 g of sample, accurately weighed, in water and make up to 100 ml. Place a 0.2-ml portion in a very clean dust-free glass tube and cool in an ice-bath. Add 1.2 ml of ice-cold cysteine-sulfuric reagent, cover with a glass ball, and mix thoroughly. After 2 min in ice, remove to room temperature for 3 min, then plunge into a boiling water bath for 3 min. Immediately cool in ice for 5 min, before reading the absorbance in a 1-cm cell at 412 nm. Standard curve Prepare standard glucose solutions ranging in concentration from 10 -100 μg/ml and construct a standard curve from the absorbance of these solutions following treatment of 0.2 ml samples according to the above procedure. Determine the carbohydrate concentration (as glucose) in the test sample by reference to the standard curve.
- Test: Infrared spectrum
- Thaumatin
Every name it appears under
19 recorded names. A label may use any of them.
E number
- E957
INS number
- 957
CAS registry number
- 53850-34-3
As it appears in regulation
- Thaumatin
Other names
- E 957
- THAUMATIN
Systematic names
- Thaumatins, proteins
Hazard reference values
| Type | Value | Population | Assessed by | Opinion |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| group ADI | not specified | — | JECFA | 2025 |
Evidence and how bodies read it
What assessing bodies concluded
Each conclusion is paraphrased in the body's own framing, from the published opinion linked beneath it. Where bodies differ, both stand; this site does not adjudicate between them or add a view of its own.
EFSA 2021
The FAF Panel found no genotoxicity concern for thaumatin (E 957), a digestible plant protein, and could draw no conclusion on oral allergenicity from human data. It concluded that no numerical ADI is needed and, based on a margin of safety of about 5,400, that there is no safety concern, and recommended new specifications including a minimum thaumatin protein content and tighter limits for toxic elements.
Common questions
Assembled from what is above, in the words the questions are usually asked in. Each answer is the same statement the relevant section makes, with the same citations behind it.
- What is E 957?
- E 957 is Thaumatin. Thaumatin is a sweet-tasting protein from a West African fruit, thousands of times as sweet as sugar by weight. It is used as much for its ability to enhance and prolong other flavours as for sweetness itself.
- What is Thaumatin used for in food?
- It is listed as a sweetener — the role Canada, Codex and the EU assign it. This page shows every function each regulator records, with the citation for each.
- Where is Thaumatin permitted?
- Of the seven regulators this site reads, Australia and New Zealand, Canada, the EU, Great Britain, South Korea and the Codex standard permit it. Each permission is for named foods at named levels, not a blanket one; the table on this page gives them with citations.
- Is Thaumatin vegan?
- Yes. Thaumatin is not derived from animals, and is suitable for vegetarians. This page says what it is made from and how.
Sources for this page
- anz retrieved 2026-10-17
- ca retrieved 2026-10-17
- eu retrieved 2026-10-18
- gb retrieved 2026-10-18
- kr retrieved 2026-10-18
- gsfa retrieved 2026-09-07
- euspecs retrieved 2026-10-18
- jecfaspecs retrieved 2026-09-23
Full licence terms and publisher details on Sources. How this page is built and updated: Method.
Machine-readable: a JSON record of this additive is given on request —how to ask for access.
Follow changes to Thaumatin:Atom feed — regulatory events, and any change the weekly refresh detects in its provisions.